Higher Power

I have been struggling with step #2 in AA:

“Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity”

I woke up thinking about it this morning.  It wasn’t going to stop me from going to meetings, I just need to figure out what my higher power is.  I have been asking for signs for help for a multitude of problems that I have banging around in my brain.

When I got up this morning, there it was, a sign in my inbox.

Here it is, it was so powerful I needed to share:

10 thoughts on “Higher Power

  1. Remember that you don’t have to have a HP locked up and defined and all of that. The moment we put our HP in a box, we are ourselves playing God. The only thing that you need to go with on Step 2 is a willingness to believe. If you believe that there is something, anything, greater than you out there, that’s enough. Your HP will reveal more of itself the further you go into the steps. I may not understand my HP, but I know more and more of Him. That comes from experience and seeing how He works in my life. That’s about it. I never had a definite picture of my HP to move one. I just acknowledged that I am not God and that there is something out there that is greater than me, and I moved to my third step.

    Basically, Step one is I have a problem and I can’t fix it.
    Step two is there is one one who can fix that problem.
    Step three is I will let that thing fix my problem.
    And then I work the steps to let my HP fix that problem.

    That’s about it.

    Some people make a list of what they imagine their HP to be – loving, forgiving, etc. and that can be helpful. But for me, just knowing in my heart there is something that makes all the things on this earth, that moves and shifts, that brings the right people at the right times in my life, etc. is all I needed to get going on the steps.

    Anyway, i am blathering!

    Thanks for sharing the video – wonderful 🙂

    Paul

  2. I remember singing in that in church. Never sounded like that though.

    How do the steps work? Who decides when you’re ready to move onto the next step? How do you prove you’re ready for the next step and what does it mean when you say you’re ‘working the steps?

  3. I struggled with this one too. My first HP was a huge oak tree outside my house. It was definitely greater than me, it withstood all kinds of weather and was much older than me. I used to sit under it and talk to it. Lol! But really I believe this is a step that just basically says there is a bigger something out there and I am not it. My definition of HP has changed over the years, it’s not a tree anymore but it’s not religious either. I just believe that there is something way bigger than me out there, a force that just believe in. It’s hard to explain I guess but at the same time it’s not as complicated as we make it. Some people believe in a special shirt that brings them good luck, does it? Who knows, but if they believe that it does then it does. I think this is sort of like that for me. I just believe. Stay open minded and it will come to you. Hope this helped a bit. Hugs.

  4. I struggle with this some as well. Here’s how I went from avowed atheist to a general openness to aspecific theism. I don’t will to be an alcoholic. It is not my will that I drink in excess, everyday, and blackout frequently, and wreak havoc in my life. I don’t choose that. And yet I do it. My alcoholism is a power greater than myself. Having tried often enough and hard enough for many years to moderate my consumption, I accept that I am overpowered by alcohol.
    My will is demonstrably inadequate. Thus, I must be open to the notion of “path-determination” through some other means. But if not my will then what? Surely not the will of another person. I tried that. I attempted to delegate many responsibilities related to my consumption to my wife (as in, “here, hold on to substance X, and only give me Y amount, with Z frequency”). It doesn’t work.
    So the problem’s non-rational. My practicing alcoholism is not something I decide to do because it makes sense. It is instead an example of the inadequacy of my will. So why, then, should the solution be any different?

  5. I think that I would struggle with this one as well and to be honest, the religious aspect of AA has been one of the main reasons I haven’t gone down that path. But it’s encouraging to see that you have found a HP and that others have as well, ones that aren’t necessarily associated with any organised religions. I’m only on day two at the moment and I since this is my first serious attempt at quitting, I want to try to do it without attending AA but after reading some of your blog, I think I would be open to it in the future if i trip and stumble. Thank you for sharing!
    – Chris.

Leave a Reply

