Really, really want to drink…

Sober-Mommies-Dont-let-fear-of-the-unknown-keep-you-from-changing-what-you-know-doesnt-work-300x300

But I won’t. I am trying to figure out the trigger. I came up with nothing. Then I remembered the AA acronym HALT.

Hmmm, hungry, no, angry, always lately, lonely, I wish I had some time alone, tired..yup. I have been enjoying my sober sleep so much. Last night when I tried to fall asleep, it felt like I had been drinking. Most nights I would pass out, but some nights I would roll around, wishing I could pass out. That was how I felt last night. It took forever to fall asleep, than I was up and down all night. No real deep, REM sleep.

I guess the folks at AA have some knowledge about triggers. I am bone weary tired.

I am in bed. I will read, then I will sleep, and I will have gotten through this craving. White knuckles and all.

I want to say thank you to my new friend Kelly, thanks for being there. You are right drinking sucks more.

7 thoughts on “Really, really want to drink…

    • Awesome work. I am on Day One again and this time I am starting to reach out to people on the blogs. I find it inspiring that you were able to get through a night of cravings. I know I can do this if others can do this.

      • It is never easy. You have to find distractions. I find that getting a good book and going to bed really early helps. I am out of the area where I used to drink, the kitchen and family room. You just have to find what works for you. Congratulations on starting again!

  1. What would you say to me if I wrote your post? Do that!!! Treat you the way you would tell me to treat myself…You can do this.. I know it! Joy will come in the morning when you are still sober! Hugs!

  2. Bit late in replying – but well done for not drinking. You felt it, you thought about it and you got through it. So you know you will be able to to that again 🙂 Hope the feelings have passed now. Take care of yourself. xxx

    • I did, but had the same anxious feeling last night too. Trying to figure out what is out of whack, besides all the usual stuff. But I am still counting up, not back to one. I have that going for me 🙂 Thanks for the reply.

Leave a Reply

