“Help for Today. Hope for Tomorrow.”

April is National Alcohol Awareness Month, which I was not aware of until 365Reasons2Sober posted about it on Friday.

The title of this post, is the slogan for the month.

This link: http://www.ncadd.org/index.php/learn-about-alcohol/alcohol-abuse-self-test is a test titled “Am I Alcoholic”.

I scored a 17.    If you take the quiz, and you feel comfortable with it, let me know your score.  (The husband took it and scored a 3.  When I told him my score, he said, Why didn’t I notice any of this?)

No Shame in Asking posted about a piece on the Today show done by Maria Shriver.  I hadn’t seen it or heard about it, so I Google it.  What an eye opener, the statistics are astounding, as was the story.

The link to that video is here: http://www.today.com/moms/hitting-mommy-juice-too-hard-experts-warn-alcohol-abuse-moms-2D79473508.

This is a scary disease.

The word ALCOHOLIC still has such a stigma attached to it.  I still feel embarrassed when I walk into an AA meeting.  I am still having trouble speaking, right now I am just being a sponge, and absorbing all of the knowledge from the long time sober.

I hope that one day, everyone knows when National Alcohol Awarness Month is, like they do with Autism, Breast Cancer and Heart Disease.

I hope that one day people look at alcoholism as a disease, not a choice.

If it were a choice, would any of us have chosen it?  I really don’t think so.

Below I posted a few pictures I took on my run yesterday.

Have a great Sunday!

crop DSC_3820 DSC_3822 DSC_3826

 

33 thoughts on ““Help for Today. Hope for Tomorrow.”

  1. Oh dear. I scored a 17. I guess that settles it. Just to see if the test was biased or flawed (like, doesn’t everyone have these issues with drinking?!) I took the drug one that was linked to the bottom of my alcohol test scores. Nope, not a drug addict, so that’s good news! It was interesting to do the drug one because it gave me perspective on what it might be like for a “normal” drinker to take the alcohol test. Does that make sense? Thanks for posting!!

  2. Oh my my, thank you for posting. i scored 18, coming up on 100 days sober and will remember my score when Wolfie tells me it is possible to be a “moderate drinker.” Love the photos 🙂

  3. OMG, I didn’t finish! i marked the first 10 YES, I am sure I could have marked all of them YES, but then again, I already knew – good to know that nothing has changed! LOL! Thanks for sharing. I’ve been posting stuff about the Alcohol Awareness Month on FB, and guess what? Not a single like! Whatever! I am still doing it! I think I need another post right about now!

    Awesome pics! Enjoy the day!

  4. 17 for me. I totally am enjoying the sober days and sober nights…Hey that could be a song!! Gorgeous Pictures….Read your other two blogs and he is still be an assholic!!! Hugs!

  5. I didn”t take the test and I already know I am an addict and an alcoholic, but in recovery, thank God.
    What a beautiful place to run and such peaceful and serene view.
    Have a wonderful day.
    My sobriety date is Nov 3, 1997 and I am grateful for every day.

  6. Just took it and scored an 11 – it says to seek help immediately. So, so glad I’m sober instead of wondering if all this crazy drinking is going to magically get better if I just get a better handle on it. Yes, I had a problem, and yes it was getting worse no matter how much worry and denial I threw at it. Getting sober is the simplest and hardest thing, and the biggest part in the beginning is just coming to terms with the reality of having a drinking problem. Tests like this are great in that regard. Nice post! Hana

  7. I’m new to this. I’m only on Day 2. I almost had myself convinced earlier that I am overreacting, perfectly normal and allowed some wine now and again. I scored 18. I guess I’m not overreacting.

    • My feeling is this, if you found this little corner of the internet, and have set up shop, you know what you need to know about yourself. The hard part is admitting it and meaning it. The harder part is doing something about it.
      Day 2 is awesome. Been there, it is hard work, but so is life.
      Stay strong, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

