8 MONTHS TODAY!

images (1)

Thoughts on 8 months:

  • $2430.00 saved.
  • Along with my liver, and my health.
  • When I decided to stop drinking, I never thought this is where I would be.
  • No one goes to AA an alcoholic, I certainly didn’t, but I am one now.
  • Everyone kept telling me it WILL GET EASIER.  I was skeptical at best, but it really does.
  • It has gotten easier, then harder, then easier….see where I am going?  It is life, ebbs and flows, I just see it clearly instead of through an alcohol induced or hung over haze.
  • Step 4 is a hard.  I work on it, then stop when I start to cry,  then start again.  It is a work in progress, just like me.
  • I sleep better. (Most nights)
  • I have begun to ween myself off the sleeping pills, just to see how that goes.  Do I really need them, or was that just to sleep through the booze that would wake me up?
  • My relationship with my husband is MUCH better.  It is amazing that he is so much less of an asshole than when I was drinking.  🙂
  • I think AA should give out monthly chips for the first year.  Just saying.
  • I am running better, further, longer and more often.
  • I have only taken ONE nap in the last 8 months.  ( I used to nap almost daily.)
  • I have more pimples.  Either due to the estrogen or the nightly reward of M&M’s.  I don’t know and I don’t care.  Whatever it is, it is working.  And I own pimple cream, and cover up.
  • No one cares what is in my glass.
  • No one is even paying attention to me, AT ALL.
  • I am happy.  I think joyous and free come along later.

images (2)

 

40 thoughts on “8 MONTHS TODAY!

  1. Happy 8 months!! Some meetings do give out monthly coins. I agree they all should that first year. Laughed at what you said about your husband. Hear, hear. I think the joyous and free comes just like the happy, gradual and contingent on us maintaining our sobriety, which fortunately is simple enough to do. You’re wearing your sobriety beautifully 🙂

  2. Congratulations on 8 months!!! Great to see you making it 🙂 I think step 4 is going to make me cry a lot too.. as will step 8 & 9. I too laughed about the husband comment. I can never hear enough times that it will get better. I’m glad you are happy. Thanks for inspiring.

    • Thank you for reading. I was skeptical in the beginning that it would get better, I kept reading it would. It has, not saying it isn’t hard, it is. But it is better. WAY better.

    • I like to do small treats on days that end in a zero. At 240 I bought myself a new handbag. Not that I needed it, I tend to collect them, but I wanted it and it did not cost $2400.00 dollars. 🙂

      • Haha! I don’t know if it’ll stick. I did notice the same thing when I quit heroin. While using- not a zit in sight. Stop using- zits everywhere! It eventually balanced back out an now I only get them when I’m going to a wedding or funeral or out in public. Lol

  3. Congratulations! Such a great list. I am terrifically happy for you.
    I don’t know if we all experience the breakout skin issue but I was told (or read) I can’t remember —by whom or where— it’s the toxins exiting once they realize they aren’t an integral part of your body’s daily requirements. I got it bad about 4-6 months in.

    • Alcoholics Anonymous has 12 steps.. The 4th step is making a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves. It is not fun to look inside sometimes.
      Thanks for the congratulations!

      • I’m at the same point in time and steps aug 1 was 8 months for me).
        I’m just not interested in dredging up my past errors right now.
        I used the women’s way through the 12 steps exercise and it seemed much more positive.
        It’s worth reading.

      • I have read that also. I am doing a modified version, and doing it very slowly. I am doing resentments, fears, harms and sex. I am bouncing around a lot as things come to mind. I am using a little from this book and that book and this website etc.

  4. Congrats on 8 months! Woot woot! I love the husband comment too, I think people in general become less of assholes when we get sober! Lol! Funny how hat happens.

    Sending many hugs! Love you to pieces. Thank you for being a huge part of my recovery. 🙂

  5. congrats my friend! Things certainly do change, don’t they? You’re doing great. The 4th isn’t always easy, but we keep at it. There is gravy at the end of that train 🙂

    And yeah, all the group here give 1,2,3,6 and 9 month chips. And a smaller portion of them will give for every single month. I think it’s just a regional thing.

    Congrats again !

  6. WOO HOO! Many congratulations to you on 8 months! I hate to tell you this….be AA here in Texas (at least where I live) chips are given for every month in the first year….regardless, you keep shining…9 is just around the corner.

Leave a Reply

