Open Bar Party

open

 

Last night the hubs and I went to a Luau party at his golf club.  The tickets were $75.00 per person, for that nominal fee you got an open bar a buffet  which included grilled shrimp, and a reggae band.

When I was drinking, only 8 months ago, I would have made a valiant effort to try and drink my $75.00 entrance fee worth of wine.  Because that is what you do, isn’t it?

I felt a small pang of regret that I wasn’t drinking as we approached the bar.  I knew there was no way I could consume $75.00 worth of food, so I was disappointed that we weren’t going to get our money’s worth at the bar.   (That is normal thinking, right?)

Well, the hubs only had two vodka and cranberries, one of which I got for him.  I had four club sodas with lemon.

The food was mediocre at best.  And there was NO chocolate in sight on the dessert table.  Coconut ice cream, and rice pudding, who calls that dessert?

People came, drank a drink or two, ate and left.  It was not one of the better parties we have attended there.

We were home before 10.

This morning I woke up without a hangover.   hungover

I know that this a normal phenomenon for a “normal” drinker, but for me, it was very unusual.

It feels GREAT!!  I feel GREAT!!

I emailed my sponsor, M, to tell her what a great fait accompli this was, not drinking at an OPEN BAR!!!

I didn’t share it with anyone else, because no one else would understand, most especially not the hubs.  (He still astounds me with the lack of understanding he has for this disease.  I guess it wasn’t part of his MD training, or it is selective, I haven’t decided yet.  If he suggests that we get a wine machine that dispenses only ONE glass before it shuts down one more time I AM GOING TO PUNCH HIM IN THE FACE! )

I am a super sober star, I DID NOT DRINK AT AN OPEN BAR!!!  (Yup, it rhymes!!  See what you can do when not hung over?)

19 thoughts on “Open Bar Party

  1. It’s interesting. I went to the Dodger game last night. First no alcohol baseball game. Yes it was boring, but it wasn’t a very good game and the Dodgers lost. Oh well. This morning was pain free though. Sometimes it is hard to believe I haven’t consumed alcohol since X-mas Day.

  2. Well done you! I was definitely one for “trying to get my money’s worth” at an open bar…definitely a situation in which any attempt at self control would be thrown out of the window. I used to work for a company that would lay one on for the xmas party. Even if I hadn’t spent a penny, there was still that “let’s make the most of this” attitude. Was always ugly in the end 😦 Glad you woke up hangover free! That just never gets boring, does it? xx

  3. Great stuff. I know what you meant and what it feels like to be in places like that while nobody around you understands. I did that on a cruiseship recently – that lasted 7 days!. Keep it up

Leave a Reply

