Step 6: Removing Defects of Character

I am still trying to work my way through the steps of AA. They have sort of taken a back burner to some of the other things that are happening in my life right now.

I know I have many, but some I can not give up. Such as changing my sheets every Saturday.

I am currently working on control and patience. Two of my major defects.

I like everything my way, control.

I want everything to move at my pace, impatience.

That being said, this has been sitting in the middle of my bedroom floor for 7 days. (I unpack the minute we walk in the door, just to be clear about whose this is…NOT MINE.)

2014-09-30 14.24.02

I have not unpacked it…control.

I have not said anything about it…patience.

I have had my passive-aggressive moments. Such as putting fresh laundry back in there instead of in the dresser or closet.

How many days before it is officially called a dresser?

3 thoughts on “Step 6: Removing Defects of Character

  1. This is absolutely priceless. Steps 4 and 5 were nothing compared to Step 6 for me. In fact, I’ve pretty much just hung my spurs for the last 3 1/2 years on Step 6. Of course, it could always be my staunch Presbyterian upbringing saying I’m simply doomed to wanting things my way because said desire balances out my guilt and shame.

    Or not.

  2. ooohhhhh I am so with you on the suitcase! that drives me so, so nuts. on about day 4 I start making little cracks, such as, “Oh, shall I look out some Christmas decorations for it if it’s going to be a permanent feature?” and then it becomes A Thing and he doesn’t do it more than ever…if I say on day 2 “could you unpack your suitcase, please?”…. he does it on about day 9. which is pretty much when he does it whatever I do or don’t say. sigh…. let us know when he cracks, yes? šŸ™‚ oh and that clip made me laugh, thank you! xx

  3. Ha! I’m afraid I would be the one with the suitcase on the floor whilst my husband would be the one making comments about it through gritted teeth. But since no-one would ever fill it with clean laundry for me, I guess it would gradually get emptied šŸ˜‰
    Good luck with the solving the case šŸ˜‰ xx

Leave a Reply

