THANK YOU

As I was drifting off to sleep last night, I was thinking about how much my life has changed since getting sober.  The first change being that I was DRIFTING OFF TO SLEEP, not passing out.  There are times that sleep comes quickly, and other nights I lie there and thoughts drift through my head.  This is what came to me last night.

I want to THANK each and every one of you who has taken time to read my blog, follow my story, and add comments.

thank

The evening I read the Good Housekeeping article about Amy from Soberbia, and Belle from Tired of Thinking about Drinking, was life changing.  I emailed Belle from the gym the next day, where I was trying to sweat out another hang over.  I WAS Tired of Thinking about Drinking, sick and tired.  I told her I was ready to start the 100 day Challenge, sign me up.

Unfortunately, there was still a half of a bottle of wine in the refrigerator, I drank it, as any good alcoholic would, because it should not go to waste, and who else would get rid of it if I didn’t?

The next day, I had to email Belle and tell her to restart my Day 1.  That day was 11/30/2013.  I have not had a drink since.

I relied on Belle and her Team 100 for quite some time.  As I got deeper into the blogging world, I began to read about AA and what a fantastic program it was, and how many people had found kindred souls and fantastic mental help through the program.  It took me about 3 weeks to get enough courage to walk through the doors.

I threw myself into the program.  I went and bought the books, started the reading, attended all sorts of meetings trying to find the place I could call home.  I had some good experiences and some bad ones, but I kept at it until I found that comfortable spot and people I could relate to.

I then went on a quest for a sponsor.  One of the men at my home meeting gave me his wife’s number.  We met, but did not click.  I posted about my struggle to find a sponsor, and a wonderful sober blogger offered to do it.  She became my sponsor in April, and I haven’t looked back.

Ours is an unusual situation, I would imagine.  We live in different states.  We have had to make our relationship work via email, text and telephone.  I remember how fast my heart was beating during our first telephone call, I was scared.   Since that time, she has become not only my sponsor, but my confidant, my close friend, and my true north.  We finally got to meet during my travels this summer, and it was like we had been friends forever.  Thank you, M, I truly love you.

Thank you to all of you.  Thank you to Belle, Amy, to Christy at  Running on Sober, to Paul at Message in A Bottle and Jeni, who all helped me in early sobriety.  I mean really, really helped me, as in throwing me continuous life preservers while drowning help.

Thank you to all the other wonderful bloggers who have stopped by to leave me tidbits of wisdom while I wind my way down this ever changing path of sobriety.  I truly would not be here without you.  I begin and end my days reading your words..  Every one of you have added some wisdom to some part of my journey.

I wouldn’t be here without you.  Thank you.  I am truly blessed to have found this wonderful world.

12 thoughts on “THANK YOU

  1. What a lovely post to read this morning…love gratitude! Thank YOU for everything. You have helped me more than I may have helped you. Believe that. Keep passing it on, carry the message of hope and do what you’re doing. You’re doing fantastic 🙂

    Hugs
    Paul

  2. Damn girl. I’m going to have to fix my mascara.

    Seriously, you’ve come so far, and just look at how much you’ve changed in such a short amount of time.

    I love that you started blogging, even though I was slow to put two and two together, and I’m thrilled you found M.

    Wishing you all good things…c

  3. Teary eyed! You are such an inspiration! I am so grateful to be a part of your journey. You are a miracle. You have brought so much to my life. Thank you! And I am so very grateful that the universe has brought you so many amazing people to support you along your way! Love you. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

